Lawmakers Revoke TPLF MPs' Immunity

Lawmakers Revoke TPLF MPs' Immunity

Nov 14 , 2020.

The parliament has unanimously approved the decision to revoke the immunity privileges of 38 of its members representing Tigray People’s Liberation Front (TPLF).

The lower house has revoked the immunity from prosecution for Debretsion Gebremichael (PhD), Asmelash Weldesenbet, Abay Tsehaye, Addisalem Balema (PhD), Getachew Reda, Atsebeha Aregawi, Gebregziabher Araya and other members of the TPLF.

The individuals whose immunity has been revoked are accused of allegedly rebelling against the government and attacking the National Defense Forces. A Law Enforcement Operation by the federal government has been active for nearly two weeks with the aim of disarming, restoring legitimate administration, and enforcing law and order in the Regional State, according to Office of the Prime Minister.

During the same session, the House appointed Fikre Gebrehiwot as a member on the National Electoral Board of Ethiopia and approved the draft bill of the excise tax law.

PUBLISHED ON Nov 14,2020 [ VOL 21 , NO 1072]