Parliament Assigns Standing Committee Chairs

Nov 13 , 2021

Parliament assigned chairpersons to 11 standing committees of the house last week. The chairs will be leading the standing committee of the house formed in 11 sectors such as the Foreign Relations & Peace Affairs Standing Committee, the Industry & Minerals Affairs Standing Committee, and the Commerce & Tourism Affairs Standing Committee. Prominent members of parliament, such as Negeri Lencho (PhD), former government spokesperson, and Dima Negewo (PhD) are included. Christian Taddele, a member of the opposition party National Movement of Amhara (NAMA), is also among those selected to chair the standing committees.



A street vendor around Chechnya sells colourful giant teddy bears. Theatrical spectacles with evading street vendors and officials from the Code Enforcement Authority are ubiquitous across the streets of Addis Abeba. Nearly a sixth of the capital-employed labour force is engaged in the informal sector. A series of campaigns by the Peace & Security Administration Bureau to reel in the proliferation of street vendors has been largely unsuccessful as more and more people migrate into the capita...



Daily labourers around Qaliti attempt to lift a portion of a giant 16-wheeler truck that was in an accident. A recent decision by the Ethiopian Customs Authority to deny clearing procedures for imports of vehicles through fractionalized letters of credit has fueled anxiety in the car import business sector. An announcement by the Adama Customs Commision Branch office last week of an auction for 237 vehicles has sparked outrage as several importers and Ethiopian diaspora are up in arms over alleg...



Renovations around the soon-to-be-inaugurated Adwa Zero Km museum around Piazza kick up in gear. The museum is an integral element of a series of mega projects in the capital carefully watched over by Mayor Adanech Abiebe. The 4.6 billion Br project sits on a whopping 45,000 sqm space and houses 11 blocks with auditoriums, galleries, gyms and art installations. The contractor is China Jiangsu International ETCG, while consultancy services are provided by Ethiopia Construction Design Supervision...