MPs Approve Pubic Officials with Considerable Opposition Vote

Mar 14 , 2020

The parliament has approved the appointment of four ministers, the commissioner of the anti-corruption commission and board members of the Ethiopian Press Agency. The parliament approved the appointments despite an energetic show of opposition from a high number of MPs. The MPs confirmed Adanech Abebe as Attorney General, Laqe Ayalew as minister of Revenues, Lia Tadesse (MD) as minister of Health, and Filsan Abdullahi as minister of Women, Children & Youth, with 21 opposition votes. Tsega Arage's appointment as commissioner of the Federal Ethics & Anti-Corruption Commission earned 11 votes of opposition, while six members abstained from the vote. Daniel Kibret's appointment as a board member of the Ethiopian Press Agency was opposed by 126 members, a record-high number in the parliament's history, while 48 additional members abstained from the vote.



A booming plastic container market around the Saris area bustles with shoppers inspecting the selections. Water supply shortages have plagued the capital as an expanding population size's demand is unmet by the drops moving through the pipes. The Addis Abeba Water & Sewage Authority relies heavily on underground wells and surface water from the Legedadi, Dire and Gefersa dams. With the Authority digging 28 wells to meet the demand shortage, several parts receive water through the taps three...



A telephone pole gently rests aside DebreZeit road, tucked into the city's ageing infrastructure. Ethiopia's infrastructure has been under rising assault by robbers who mimic maintenance workers appointed by the state. The ones pared from theft are constantly a victim of subdued synergy between government bureaus. The International Journal of Scientific & Technology Research published a study in 2020 indicating that lack of coordination between agencies was a significant factor in delays, co...



Traditional holiday hymns are sung by a group of men dressed in cultural outfits with decorations made from a horse's mane around the Bole area. The early weeks of September bring with them a panoply of festivities. A soft holiday spirit glistens the streets of Addis Abeba, while roaring hordes of shoppers grappling with inflation rates near 30pc do not grace marketplaces like they used to. The tight clampdown on access to foreign currency by the Ministry of Finance which banned the import of 3...