Ministry Picks 10 Universities for PhD Programme

Jan 23 , 2021

The Ministry of Science & Higher Education picked 10 higher education institutions in the country to teach 5,000 PhD students in five years starting from this year. Dubbed the Homegrown Collaborative PhD Programme, it lies in the country's focus industry areas: agriculture, tourism, mining, ICT and manufacturing. The Programme is going to be conducted in higher education institutions including Addis Abeba Science & Technology University, Adama Science & Technology University, Addis Abeba University, Meqelle University and Gonder University. The Programme is set to be funded by the government, but the Ministry is also looking to collaborate with other development partners. It comes on the heels of the launch of the Ministry's National Digital Skills Country Action Plan, a 10-year, nationwide initiative to enhance digital skills and learning across higher learning institutions.



A shoe cobbler in the Cherqos area clenches tightly at the needle, keeping the dying trade afloat. The ragged tent protecting the vendor from the scorching sun above will soon be a relic if the City administration's beautification campaign is fully realised. Addis Abeba has represented a centre of commerce and culture for the multitude that flock every year from all corners of Ethiopia in its 137-year history. With the informal sector accounting for nearly half of the capital's employed and cons...



A street vendor around the Stadium area sells high-quality images depicting Ethiopia's diverse tourist attractions. Ethiopia is lauded as a land of man-made and natural wonders with tourist attractions all over the region. However, the constant conflict has rendered too much of its vast heritage inaccessible over the past few years. While many expected a rebound from the two billion dollars lost in tourism revenues in 2022 after the November peace deal, the dawn of another conflict has cast an u...



A cow around the Qera area is transported to a nearby dairy farm as the demand rises during the holiday season. While Ethiopia has the largest cattle population in the continent at over 50 million, animal products appear to be a rare delicacy in the everyday diet of citizens. A recent report by the United Nations indicated that over 80pc of Ethiopians do not eat a healthy diet. High costs compounded by expensive undersupplied animal feed, contraband and hefty taxation play a major factor with a...