COVID-19 UPDATES: All the stories and commentaries on Coronavirus, in one place
We thank INTERNEWS for collaborating with us on this project.

Electoral Board Gets New Members

June 15 , 2019

The National Electoral Board has received its first board of directors since its size was trimmed to five. Last week, parliament approved the appointments of Bizuwork Ketete, Wubishet Ayele, Getahun Kassa (PhD) and Abera Degefa, who were nominated as new members of the Electoral Board by Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed (PhD) Wubishet, who was a federal court judge and founder of Inmates Rehabilitation Center, becomes the vice chairperson of the Board. The appointment of the new members was approved with 17 against and one vote of abstention during the session that was held on June 13, 2019. Birtukan Mideksa will continue as chairperson of the Board. Before the legislation of the new proclamation, the Electoral Board had nine members, but the amendment restructured the composition of the board to five members, who also will be full-time employees of the Board. The upcoming sixth national election is expected to take place next year.


Editors' Pick

Drop us a message

Or see contact page